Flin Flon’s Reagan named CJHL Coach of the Year


CJHL Media Update

Release Date: Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Flin Flon’s Reagan named CJHL Coach of the Year

TORONTO – The Canadian Junior Hockey League (CJHL), in conjunction with the National Hockey League Coaches’ Association (NHLCA), announced Wednesday that Mike Reagan of the Flin Flon Bombers (SJHL) has been named the 2023-24 recipient of the Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award, emblematic of CJHL Coach of the Year.

Presented annually by the CJHL and NHLCA, this prestigious honour serves in memory of Humboldt Broncos (SJHL) head coach Darcy Haugan, and assistant Mark Cross, who were among those who sadly lost their lives following the tragic events of April 6, 2018.

Reagan garnered the accolades over fellow Coach of the Year finalists Shawn Martin, Whitecourt Wolverines (AJHL); Marty Abrams, Navan Grads (CCHL); Phil Fife, Amherst Ramblers (MHL); Kyle Brick, Blind River Beavers (NOJHL) and Mark Joslin, Brantford 99ers (OJHL), following a voting process completed by the CJHL’s nine-member leagues, for their respective efforts through the course of the regular season.

“One of the main responsibilities of our Association is to support the development of the next generation of NHL coaches,” said Lindsay Pennal, Executive Director of the NHLCA. “Coaches are important leaders within their communities, serving as role models at every level of the game. Alongside our members, we are committed to supporting them both on and off the ice.”

As the recipient of the award, Reagan, and his club, will also receive the following:

•  CAD $5,000 contribution to the Flin Flon Bombers on behalf of the NHLCA
•  CAD $5,000 worth of Bauer Hockey equipment, to the team
•  He, along with one assistant coach, are invited as honourary guests of the NHLCA to attend the 2024 NHLCA Global Coaches’ Clinic, presented by SAP, taking place on June 27-28 in Las Vegas, Nev., prior to the NHL Draft™
•  Reagan’s Award will be formally presented in-person during the 2024 NHLCA’s Global Coaches’ Clinic on June 28.

Recognized as the Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Coach of the Year back in March, Reagan guided his team to a SJHL-best 44-9-2-1 record.

The Flin Flon product led his side to the SJHL’s regular season crown and captured their third division title in the past four years.

In his 17th year at the hockey operations helm of the organization, Reagan also serves as the Bombers’ general manager.

At one point during the 2023-24 campaign, Flin Flon was slotted No. 1 nationally in the CJHL Top 20 rankings for 16 consecutive weeks.

“The hockey community extends beyond players. It includes parents, trainers, officials and many others who help make our game exciting and teach life lessons through sports,” said Mary-Kay Messier, VP of Global Marketing, Bauer Hockey. “Coaches play such an important role in shaping tomorrow’s leaders and using hockey to build character on and off the ice. We are proud to work with the NHL Coaches’ Association and recognize the immense value coaches provide to our game.”

As a player, Reagan spent four seasons in the SJHL with the Bombers, from 1996 through 2000, amassing 206 points, including notching 81 goals, in 239 career contests.

With files from Jamie Neugebauer & Clark Munroe, Co-Directors of Media (SJHL)

ABOUT THE NHL COACHES’ ASSOCIATION: The NHL Coaches’ Association is the professional organization that provides support and assistance to the head, assistant, goaltending and video coaches of the 32 teams in the National Hockey League. The NHLCA and its members seek to develop future coaches, give back to the hockey community, and grow the game of hockey globally. One of the Association’s primary objectives is to help develop all hockey coaches from the youth level up to the highest levels of hockey, as the NHLCA strongly believes that coaches are important leaders within their communities, serving as role models at every level of the game.

Photo credit: Kelly Kocur Jacobson


Andy Harkness

Canadian Junior Hockey League
aharkness@cjhlhockey.com (Email)

cjhlhockey.com (W)
@cjhlhockey (X)

Lindsay Pennal
Executive Director

NHL Coaches’ Association
lindsay@nhl-coaches.com (Email)

nhlcoaches.com (W)
@NHLCoachesAssoc (X)
nhlcoaches (I)