MHL Hands Out Final Award Winners for 2017-18 Season

Mitch Bonnar is presented with the 2018 Moe Bent Builders Award from MHL Vice-President Cecil Taylor – Photo Credit – Kevin Northup

The MHL concluded its annual AGM and Draft weekend on Saturday in Berwick, Nova Scotia. Before the draft commenced, the league presented its final three awards for the 2017-18 season.

Yarmouth Mariners Head Coach/GM receives the MHL Community Spirit Award on behalf of Ben Chipman from MHL President Brian Whitehead – Photo Credit – James Faulkner


Forward Ben Chipman of the Yarmouth Mariners was named the winner of the MHL Community Spirit Award. The 20 year old form North Vancouver, BC not only helped lead the Mariners to the MHL Final this past spring, he assisted the community by participating in such local endeavours as the team’s Icy Knights program, elementary school reading programs, minor hockey practises and the First Shift initiative.

“Ben is a positive role model who makes everyone around him feel part of the team,” Mariners Head Coach and General Manager Laurie Barron explained. “Ben walks into the rink and says good day to the rink workers, the ladies in the canteen and he always has a smile on his face. He’s been great at (helping out) with (our numerous team events).”

The Edmundston Blizzard receive the Roger Meek Executive of the Year Award from MHL President Brian Whitehead – Photo Credit – James Faulkner


The Edmundston Blizzard put together a first season for the ages in Northern New Brunswick. After relocating from Dieppe, New Brunswick, the franchise found a new lease on life, leading the league in attendance and consistently selling out their brand new arena, the Jean Daigle Centre, which opened in October, 2017. On the ice, the Blizzard were equally successful, winning the league’s regular season title with a record of 36-10-4 and 76 points; then, selling out every game during the playoffs, they went 12-5 en route to the MHL playoff championship. The Blizzard organization will also be the proud hosts of the 2019 MHL AGM and Draft in Edmundston next June.


This year’s recipient of the Moe Bent Builders Award is Mitch Bonnar of the Yarmouth Mariners. After acquiring the Mariners’ franchise in 2009, Bonnar began to put in indelible stamp on the organization. During his time at the helm, the Mariners have appeared in two MHL Playoff Finals (2012 & 2018) and have been one of the league’s leaders in attendance. Bonnar helped bring the World Jr.A Championship to the area in back-to-back seasons (2012 & 2013). Following the two international events, Bonnar chaired the establishment of a legacy fund that has raised tens of thousands of dollars towards the development of players and coaches in the Yarmouth area.

“Mitch’s contribution to the hockey community both within the Yarmouth area and the MHL at large makes him more than worthy of this award,” MHL President Brian Whitehead remarked. “His passion for the game and for our league is a driving force behind the success of the MHL.”

The MHL congratulates all of its award winners for the 2017-18 regular season and playoffs.

Will MacLaren –