Billy McGuigan accepts Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award as CJHL Coach of the Year

An awards presentation was held on Monday to honour Summerside Western Capitals Head Coach Billy McGuigan, who was named the recipient of the Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award as CJHL Coach of the Year, presented by the NHL Coaches’ Association (NHLCA, for 2019-20.

McGuigan earned the recognition following a national voting process completed by each of the 10 member leagues that comprise the CJHL over fellow Coach of the Year Award finalists Tyler Deis, Okotoks Oilers (AJHL); Jason Fortier, Coquitlam Express (BCHL); Jason Clarke, Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL); Kelvin Cech, Winkler Flyers (MJHL) and Brayden Klimosko, Battlefords North Stars (SJHL).

McGuigan and his entire coaching staff were invited, as honourary guests, to take part in the online NHLCA Global Coaches’ Clinic.

Additionally, the Western Capitals will be recognized with a CAD $5,000 contribution to their team on behalf of the NHLCA, as well as a donation from Bauer Hockey of CAD $5,000 worth of equipment.

With files from Tom Annelin, Director of Communications (CJHL)

Darcy Haugan/Mark Cross Memorial Award – CJHL Coach of the Year recipients

  • 2019-20: Billy McGuigan, Summerside Western Capitals (MHL)
  • 2018-19: Blake Spiller, Portage Terriers (MJHL)