Summerside remains 4th in CJHL, Yarmouth up to 10th

CALGARY, Alta. – Continuing to rack up records in the Alberta Junior Hockey League, the Brooks Bandits remain the hottest team in Jr. A play across the country.

Remaining yet again as the No. 1 club in the Canadian Junior Hockey League Top 20 Rankings, the Bandits have won 31 straight outings and established a new AJHL mark for points in a single season on Saturday.

After skating to five wins in as many games last week, including four on the road, the No. 2 tabbed Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) claimed their first league regular season crown in nine years over the weekend.

Perennial Ontario Junior Hockey League power, the Oakville Blades, hold firm at No. 3 nationally after finishing in top spot in the 22-team OJHL to grab the No. 1 playoff seed there.

With their division title secured in the Maritimes, the No. 4 Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) will next look to close out with a first place run in that 12-team loop.

After wrapping top spot overall in Quebec, les Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) earn the No. 5 ranking in the CJHL as they begin gearing up for the playoffs.

You also have five different CJHL leagues wrapping up No. 6 through 10 this week with the OJHL, MJHL, NOJHL, BCHL and MHL all represented.

The CJHL Top 20 Rankings (As of Feb. 25)
1. Brooks Bandits (AJHL) (1)
2. Thunder Bay North Stars (SIJHL) (2)
3. Oakville Blades (OJHL) (3)
4. Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) (4)
5. Cobras de Terrebonne (LHJAAAQ) (5)
6. North York Rangers (OJHL) (8)
7. Portage Terriers (MJHL) (7)
8. Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL) (6)
9. Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (10)
10. Yarmouth Jr. ‘A’ Mariners (MHL) (11)
11. College Français de Longueuil (LHJAAAQ) (15)
12. Brockville Braves (CCHL) (13)
13. Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) (14)
14. Swan Valley Stampeders (MJHL) (12)
15. Sherwood Park Crusaders (AJHL) (16)
16. Prince George Spruce Kings (BCHL) (17)
17. Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL) (9)
18. Cobourg Cougars (OJHL) (18)
19. Nipawin Hawks (SJHL) (19)
20. Titan de Princeville (LHJAAAQ) (HM)

HONOURABLE MENTION: Merritt Centennials (BCHL); Penticton Vees (BCHL); Melfort Mustangs (SJHL); Hawkesbury Hawkes (CCHL); Amherst Ramblers (MHL)

For more information, contact

Brent Ladds                              
Canadian Junior Hockey League (Email)

Tom Annelin
Director of Communications
Canadian Junior Hockey League (Email) (Website)
@CJHLHockey (Twitter)
/canadianjuniorhockeyleague (Facebook)

*Release via the CJHL