2022 Centennial Cup schedule begins Friday for Summerside


Truro, N.S. (May 18, 2022) – The Summerside Western Capitals hit the ice for their first game at the 2022 Centennial Cup in Estevan, Saskatchewan on Friday, May 20th at 7 p.m. Atlantic Time against the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League (NOJHL) champion Soo Thunderbirds. Ten teams are taking part in the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s (CJHL) national championship, with representatives from all nine leagues plus the host Estevan Bruins.

The participants have been split into two groups of five teams, with a round robin format during the first seven days of the tournament. The groups are as follows:

Group A Group B
Brooks Bandits (AJHL) Dauphin Kings (MJHL)
Collège Français de Longueuil (LHJQ) Flin Flon Bombers (SJHL)
Estevan Bruins (SJHL) Ottawa Jr. Senators (CCHL)
Pickering Panthers (OJHL) Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL)
Red Laker Miners (SIJHL) Summerside Western Capitals (MHL)

The full schedule is available on the Hockey Canada website. Summerside will play four games in six days:

    • Friday, May 20th, 7 p.m. ADT – Summerside vs Soo
    • Sunday, May 22nd, 7 p.m. ADT – Dauphin vs Summerside
    • Monday, May 23rd, 7 p.m. ADT – Flin Flon vs Summerside
    • Wednesday, May 25th, 3 p.m. ADT – Summerside vs Ottawa

The top three teams from each group will advance to the elimination round, with the first-place team in each group receiving a bye to the semifinals. The quarterfinals on May 27th will be a crossover format based on the preliminary round results, with the second and third place teams playing each other to advance to the semifinals on May 28th.

Games throughout the event will be available via webcast for free at hockeycanada.com/centennialcup. The Centennial Cup Final will be broadcast on TSN and RDS on Sunday, May 29th at 7 p.m. ADT.


Media Contact:
James Faulkner
Director of Communications
Maritime Junior Hockey League